top of page

War and Peace



You were my war

I was my peace

Called to the battle line by both fear

and faith,

The former was my Egypt

The latter was my Canaan

I had permits to both

But I could only be a permanent in one.


My soul craved,

the familiarity of the ripple.

But my mind restrained,

in remembrance of the engulfing seas.

Apprehensive of wiggling as a small fish in a big pond,

Yet loathing the thirst bore, should we become estranged

You were my peace

I was my war


You awakened my senses.

Through you, my nose knew its first tingle.

Like a lily,

Your redolent aroma enchanted me.

And yet

in that same spirit of reviving dry bones, your unapologetically

lush petals roused my hypothalamus.

Epinephrine oozed.

Fighting it would mean war.

Flying away would spell peace.


"My breathing enigma,"

Your dawn chorus was a double edged sword,

Calling me home to purpose

While simultaneously warding me off for my longevity."

The empyrean sealed that Life,

Could only be found in both.

And so, I surrendered to a war that would become my peace.


I did and I do.



Glossary (contextualised) :

Redolent~ Richly evocative/ Reminiscent

Hypothalamus~ the body's smart control coordinating centre

Enigma~ Mystery/Paradox

Empyrean~ the highest Heaven/ Paradise



Penned from the perspective of a bride standing at the altar, the poem "War and Peace" explores the paradoxical relationship between the comfort of who we have known ourselves to be, and the vision we hold of who we can become. While it may feel puzzling at face value, an internal assessment of one's journey can lead to the discovery that we have at one, or many points; found ourselves attracted or attached to places/people/positions that came with both turbulence and a sense of contentment. In this case, the bride knows that saying "I do" will mark her breaking free from the shackles of fearing love, but, this doesn't take away her apprehension at having to fight her demons and those that come with life partnership, in order for her to actualise the greatest reality possible. Staying in the familiarity of the security offered by keeping to herself is tempting because it is comfortable. However, the foreign is just as appealing because it offers her a clean slate to recreate her life's narrative. And so, carrying both faith and fear, our persona settles for the intersection of the foreign and the familiar.


So, dear Progressive Heart, in what area of your life do you feel both war and peace and what does settling for the intersection of the foreign and the familiar look like for you?


Her Progressive Heart,


Pretty Conscience





29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page